Clinics operated by the Department provide the following free services to the general public: diagnosis and treatment, including drugs, for venereal disease; medical examination for cancer; mental guidance and psychiatric examinations; physical and X-ray examinations and tests for tuberculosis at stationary and travelling clinics and mobile X-ray units. The services of the Provincial Laboratory are available to all doctors, the Board of Health and approved hospitals. The Department distributes sera and biological products for preventive work.

On the recommendation of provincial cancer clinics, the Department provides surgical, X-ray and radium treatment, and hospitalization for a period up to two weeks for diagnostic purposes. Mental care in institutions is supervised by the Department of Public Health and patients unable to pay are treated at public expense. Hospitalization in provincial tuberculosis sanatoria is provided without charge for all resident tuberculosis patients. Out-patient pneumothorax services are available.

The Province provides full medical (including specialist) services, optical and extensive dental services to old-age and to blind pensioners, recipients of mothers' allowances, and their dependants. The Department also provides all residents suffering from the after-effects of poliomyelitis with free medical, surgical and hospital care and rehabilitation services. Hospital and medical care are provided for children suffering from rheumatoid arthritis. Maternity patients may be hospitalized at provincial expense for a twelve-day period. In addition a small money grant may be given to any needy expectant mother.

More than one-third of the population of the Province is provided with hospitalization at a minimum charge through the Municipal Hospitals Act. Provincial financial contributions include grants towards the operation of health units, per diem grants to approved hospitals, special per diem orthopædic grants as well as contributions to the Edmonton Rural Health Unit and the Edmonton Health Department for specific services.

British Columbia.—The Department of Health and Welfare is divided into two branches, under the supervision of the Deputy Minister of Health and the Deputy Minister of Welfare.

The Health Branch is divided into three bureaus, two of which are located at Victoria, one at Vancouver. The Bureau of Local Health Services, at Victoria, consists of the Nutrition Service and the Division of Health Units, Public Health Nursing, Environmental Sanitation, and Preventive Dentistry. Also at Victoria are headquarters of the Divisions of Vital Statistics and Public Health Education which are grouped in the Bureau of Central Administration. The Divisions of Tuberculosis Control, Venereal Disease Control and Laboratories have their headquarters at Vancouver, and are grouped in the Bureau of Special Preventive and Treatment Service. An Assistant Provincial Health Officer, in charge of the Vancouver District Office of the Health Department, represents the Deputy Minister of Health in the Vancouver area.